Peer Reviews

Reviews by Other Scientists & Clinicians

Reader Reviews

The urgency of disseminating and digesting the information in this book can’t be overstated.  Wind turbine installations are galloping across our land and into our waters, often with initial widespread community support – until the sickness strikes home.

The conceit of making energy from wind is fundamentally flawed from every angle and yet our decision-makers are mandating its use, with federal taxpayer subsidies (25X more/MWH than for all other forms of electricity production combined) to profiteers who are blaspheming the earth in the guise of saving it because we’ve not paid attention to the inconvenient truth that these things don’t work.

Turbines generate intermittently, but USE energy continuously. See […]. We can’t store the energy so we can’t shut down the back-up plants, only run them less efficiently, which makes for more – not less – CO2 emissions. Enormous natural resources are required – including 2 tons of rare earth elements (REE) – to produce a single large turbine. …enormous investments in infrastructure which further use up (non-renewable) land, while changing the face of our most precious wild, rural and conservation lands, and now our very neighborhoods….

And now we learn they make us sick. We’re not, after all, bionic man. We’re made of flesh and blood and very complicated moving parts ourselves. It stands to reason that putting a fifty-story metal structure with blades as long as football fields moving at 180 mph within earshot of our homes is rough on the neighborhood. No decline in property values? Who are they kidding?

Pierpont presents a picture a child can understand. The sub-audible waves sent out set up vibrations within the cavities of our bodies – ear, ocular orb, skull, our lungs and bellies – which disorient, set up resonance, make us nauseous and confused, with anxiety, blurred vision, headaches, tachycardia, difficulty concentrating. Of course they do. The ultimate boom-box. The Israeli army has used low-frequency sound pulse as high-tech crowd control for years.

At first BigWind went to cash-poor farmers, paid a pittance to lease little chunks of farmland for towers which can be seen for 30 miles or more. Leases bound to gag clauses against talking about what it’s like to live around these things once they’re up, their impact on the livestock, on the wildlife. Too bad for the neighbors. Next BigWind persuaded communities these things would be good cooperative ventures (Vinalhaven, ME). Now enormous turbines are being drawn into public spaces – watershed and conservation lands and historic neighborhoods – by local boards who buy `green’ (but not `deep green’- see Power Hungry by Robert Bryce): Dartmouth, Newburyport, and Falmouth, MA.

Some communities did their homework early and held them off for now – Wellfleet and Harwich, MA this spring. Read all their stories online, along with first person accounts of those who have already suffered tragically from exposure to industrial wind. Here is one wrenching account from Freedom, Maine: […]. See also `Hard Lessons from the Fox Islands Wind Project’ at […].

What’s coming next? The MA Senate has passed a Siting REFORM?! bill which removes local jurisdiction entirely over siting, exempts BigWind from decades-old environmental laws, and removes abutters’ and even localities’ right to appeal the ruination of their property to a court of law! Our “representatives” ?! have voted us into impotence and fast-track permitting of a nationwide devastation with no value whatsoever. Things that make us sick, useless monstrosities 50-stories high, devouring our resources to build and our world once built. It’s insanity!

Buy this book, give it to your library, read it in your book group. Encourage good folks to run for office in November, offer to support their candidacy if they make an issue of protecting their constituents from BigWind, and vote out anyone who doesn’t.

—Helen Schwiesow Parker, PhD, LCP (Chilmark, Mass., USA) 7/9/10

 

I live on the south eastern edge of a windfarm consisting of 84 monstrous 1.65 MW Vestas turbines along the north shore of Lake Erie Ontario. Eighteen of these turbines are within a 3km radius of my home.

Last night I returned home early in the evening after being out watching my students participate in a drama festival. Unfortunately I was not able to stay to watch all of the productions. I left because I was exhausted and was experiencing stomach cramps associated with the bursting of uterine cycsts.

This morning I dragged myself out of bed after a poor nights sleep, to prevailing winds coming from the northwest. When the winds are coming from the northwest is when I become most ill.

Wind Turbine Syndrome includes many ailments. Before leaving the house this morning, I experienced (a) immense pressure in my head, (b) ringing in my ears, (c) very achy joints, (d) nausea, and (e) heart pain and palpitations. I am feeling better, not 100 percent and deal with the exhaustion on an ongoing basis.

Dr. Pierpont has brought, as Dr. Bernard Juby has put it, a wake-up call to the effects of wind turbines on human health as proven by her research and stated in her book “Wind Turbine Syndrome.”

Epidimiological studies need to be carried out on people living close to wind turbines. I would be more than willing to participate, hoping disclosure of results will bring resolution to a problem of mammoth proportions, affecting many who live close to wind turbines.

I hope that one day the state of my health can be restored and I will be able to enjoy the peacefulness and serenity once provided at my home.

Thank you, Dr. Pierpont, for the research and disclosure you have brought to Wind Turbine Syndrome. Truth will prevail.

—Tracy Whitworth (Ontario, Canada) 2/18/10

Your book is a mind-opener—not only for the effects of wind turbines on health but it also explains some of the other unexplainables in my life—why I couldn’t concentrate at school, for instance. I didn’t get interested in learning until I left the Heathrow airport area at the age of 18. A plane went over my school every 45 seconds. Since then I haven’t stopped learning.

Thank you for allowing us to translate the part for non-clinicians. We really had to engage with the subject to do it, but it gave us something more than if we’d just read it, though I have to say that it sometimes brought back all the frustration and depression of the years since we were forced to leave our home [because of the wind turbines].

Will the wind industry and the politicians take note? I think they’ll have to—if not today then someday. Here’s hoping. . . .

—Gail & Walter Mair (Italy) 2/22/10

I have so enjoyed your book. Here in Cohocton NY we are living the nightmare of the wind mills. I am doing all I can to inform people across NY and USA about the dangers and problems.

Your book gave me plenty of insight on why I have some of the problems I do.

Judge Graham is a wind turbine leaseholder. That turbine in the background is on his land, much to his sorrow and regret. Click here and here and here for stories—Editor.

—Municipal Judge Harold Graham (Cohocton, NY, USA) 3/5/10

Dr. Pierpont has done all of us a great service by taking the time to actually go out and talk to the victims of wind energy as they live with wind turbines, and build a detailed record of their ailments. Compare her approach with that of wind industry proponents who sit in their cubicles googling Pub Med, then proclaiming they haven’t found anything.

The noise from wind turbines can at the very least cause annoyance and sleep disturbance, and not even the wind industry disputes this. Dr. Pierpont is proposing additional medical issues caused by physiological mechanisms, which she has labeled Wind Turbine Syndrome. Whether Wind Turbine Syndrome is ever validated or not (and there are growing indications that she really is onto something) this book is an example of down-in-the-trenches science at its best. Wind energy proponents will attack the book as “merely” a case series, but it is a case series that desperately calls out for more research before continuing doing more harm to the neighbors of these projects. Just imagine you and your family as one of these victims.

The book itself is a fairly quick read, especially for a topic that can be fairly complex. Dr. Pierpont writes well and is careful not to lapse into eye-glazing territory. There are slightly over 250 shortish pages along with 40 more pages of auxiliary information, including the peer reviews. There are just four chapters, one of which is 67 pages of raw data from her case histories. The first chapter, on why she even wrote this book, presents a compelling story of someone who above all cares about her patients. The second chapter, the Report for Clinicians, goes into detail about her proposed mechanisms. Although not trained in physiology I was able to follow her line of reasoning well enough. She has also included a fourth chapter, a Report for Non-Clinicians, which thankfully is more than just a dumbed-down version of chapter two. All three chapters are worth reading.

This book has already been criticized by the wind industry associations and no doubt will continue to be so. What is missing from their criticism is any attempt to get out into the field and find out what is really going on. Before dismissing Dr. Pierpont’s hypothesis, especially based on anything the wind industry says, I’d recommend spending a few bucks and reading it for yourself.

—W. Gulden (Yellow Springs, Ohio, USA) 6/10/10

I can not tell you how thankful my husband and I are for the insight to the horror stories we have been told by our fellow Ontarians. It is shocking to us that proper “independent” studies have not been completed by the Ministries we have trusted and counted on to protect us from Corporations and their bottom line. To think that people in Ontario that have had to abandon their homes or worse, sell to the wind developer and sign a non disclosure agreement. These people have been ignored or called NIMBY’s! They have been re victimized by the wind industry and by our own Government of Ontario. Finally through the tremendous efforts of Dr. Nina Pierpont we have a peer reviewed study and report about the serious health issues caused by living in close proximity to Industrial wind turbines. It is my opinion that this book should be required reading in our school systems as unfortunately our young students are being fed propaganda from the wind industry. This book will be paramount in exposing the truth about Low frequency noise and vibration. Hopefully it will force the wind industry and our government to rethink placement of Huge Industrial wind turbines. We can only hope so.

—Melodie Burkett (Clearview Township, Ontario, Canada) 6/12/10

While the world has gone green-crazy and thrown all caution “to the wind”, Nina Pierpont stood up and insisted we need to take a careful look.

Here in Ontario, over 100 people have come forward with health complaints from wind turbines being sited too close to their homes. In Japan, the UK, the US, Australia, as wind facilities get larger and encrouch on residential areas, the complaints are soaring through the roof.

This is a very important book for medical professionals and laymen alike. A must read!

—M. Anderson (Ontario, Canada) 6/12/10

The study of Wind Turbine Syndrome is the work that the constructors of wind power installations should have done BEFORE they started building. This is the work that they did not do in the rush to get the financial incentives. This is the work that they are now ridiculing because it threatens to expose them for what they are – incompetent, money grabbing, corner-cutters, working under the moral banner of ‘saving the climate’. Wind Turbine Syndrome is the study that explains why we, the victims, are getting the symptoms we have. The study is a fascinating eye-opener to the true sensitivity of the human body, and in particular the human ear. We are not lying, not making all our symptoms up, don’t have negative expectations about wind turbines, are not protesting just for the sake of it and all the rest of the trash BIG WIND is serving the public. This book started the avalanche – let it, and all the other scientific work on low frequency noise and the symptoms it produces in human-beings, swamp the denials of the wind industry. Thank you Nina Pierpont!

—Eva Kurz (Italy) 6/13/10

Nina Pierpont, M.D., Ph.D has written a book that is a must-read for those with interests in medicine, public health, community planning, energy politics and policy, as well as the environment. In the midst of widespread hype and unsubstantiated claims about wind energy being “green,” renewable, and “good” for the environment, Pierpont’s clinical evidence tells a dramatically different story. Namely, wind turbines are making people sick, producing serious harm to many who live near them. Those in her study were so profoundly impacted by the adverse health impact of wind turbines that most had to abandon their homes.

Pierpont is a board-certified Pediatrician and earned a Ph.D. in population biology. She holds degrees from Yale University, Princeton University, Johns Hopkins University, and did her residency at Dartmouth University. Her research provides an in-depth examination of ten families impacted by wind farms placed around their homes. Her sample incuded families from the United States and overseas. Through an analysis of the medical histories of all family members before, during, and after turbine exposure, Pierpont identifies a pattern of troubling symptoms affecting people during the period they are exposed to industrial-size turbines. She designates this pattern of symptoms, Wind Turbine Syndrome.

By far the most commonly experienced symptom is sleep disturbance, stemming from the loud audible noise produced by turbines. Despite the fact that wind developers compare wind turbine noise to the sound made by a humming refrigerator, or a conversation, those in her study characterized the noise as comparable to jet engines at take-off. The noise is so loud that people in her study found it hard to fall asleep, or were often woken up in the middle of the night, and unable to get back to sleep. Pierpont suggests sleep disturbance increases one’s risk for a host of other medical conditions, including high blood pressure, heart disease, stroke, and anxiety and depression.

Patients in Pierpont’s study complained of the intensity and quality of the noise. Not only were the turbines unacceptably loud, but they also produced vibrations within homes, and even in the bodies of those studied. Piepont contends that the low-frequency component of the noise produced by industrial-size turbines has a deleterious impact on the vestibular systems of her subjects. Her analysis provides a vivid description of inner ear physiology. The organs of the inner ear are the organs of balance. Air pressure waves produced by the low frequency component of the sound produced by industrial wind turbines, she proposes, disturb the inner-ear function of those who experience Wind Turbine Syndrome.

Pierpont identifies those most at risk of Wind Turbine Syndrome. Specifically, the elderly, young children, and those with a previous history of motion sickness, migraine, whiplash, concussion, and previous inner ear dysfunction are most at risk. In effect, those must vulnerable are people with increased sensitivity to motion and equilibrium disturbance. Other symptoms of such disturbance include cognitive and memory impairment, headaches, including migraine, dizziness, vertigo, nausea, blurred vision, increased heart rate, ringing in the ears, and ear pressure changes.

Pierpont identifies a fundamental problem insofar as wind energy developers, eager to profit from wind farm construction, are placing turbines far too close to people’s homes. Her research shows that symptoms are reduced, or eliminated entirely, once a sufficient setback distance is established between the turbines and homes. Pierpont recommends a setback distance of no less than 2 kilometers (1.25 miles) on flat terrain, and even greater in hilly terrain.

Wind developers rely on “model” ordinances, provided by the wind industry, which seek to maximize the placement of turbines in any given wind farm in order to increase profits. Model ordinances are established on the basis of profit motives, rather than science. Consequently, developers place turbines as close as possible to people’s homes. They also seek out communities with lenient wind ordinances, taking advantage of widespread ignorance, or the greed of local politicians or landowners, who are eager to cash in on wind developments at the expense of their neighbors.

Wind farms do not reduce the emission of greenhouse gases because wind energy generation from turbines is intermittent and unpredictable and the energy produced cannot be stored. Consequently, energy from wind turbines is not dispatchable on demand, and hence, all wind farms rely on back up sources such as coal. These back up sources continue to emit C02. Wind farms not only fail to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, but they produce electricity that is far more costly than any other form, while taking up massive amounts of real estate. They cause habitat interruption and destruction, kill thousands of birds and bats annually, contribute to stray voltage, which produces deleterious health impacts of its own, and they are making people sick with Wind Turbine Syndrome, often forcing people out of their homes.

Pierpont’s research demonstrates, unequivocally, that wind energy is not green, and that wind farms are bad for the health of those who live in or near them. Community planners and leaders must read this work and take heed of its findings. Local ordinances are supposed to protect the health, welfare and safety of citizens. In order to serve their intended purpose, wind ordinances must be informed by Pierpont’s findings. Community planners must acknowledge the deleterious impact that industrial turbines have on human health, and develop policies and guidelines that protect public health. Setback distances that are based on science, and medical research, such as Pierpont’s, rather than greed, are needed.

Wind farms are proliferating at an alarming rate as a consequence of federal and state-level subsidies and tax incentives, as well as mandates to generate targeted percentages of energy from so-called “renewable” sources. Wind developers are cashing in on these subsidies, tax incentives, and mandates. They are, in a word, chasing the money, while jeopardizing the health of citizens. Wind developers have been described as the snake oil salesmen of the twenty-first century. They lack a moral compass and have no regard, whatsoever, on the impact industrial-size turbines have on those who have to live next to them.

Pierpont’s research is a superb example of socially conscious, responsible medicine. She received no funding for her study. It is a brilliant, ground-breaking piece of research. I recommend it wholeheartedly and without reservation.

—Elizabeth E. Wheatley, PhD (Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA) 6/12/10

It is very interesting to note that criticisms of the validity of the professional research presented in this excellent book, criticisms coming from the industry itself, refer repeatedly, consistently, to “noise levels”. Commonly accepted definitions of noise include, according to my dictionary, “unwanted signals” or “…signal generated by random fluctuations”. Dr. Pierpont’s main thrust in her research is the effects of infrasound, that level of signal, or vibration, which is below the level which can be heard by the human ear. Therefore references to sound or noise level (inferring a popular, non-specific definition of noise as audible sound) do not apply to her primary focus and the relevancy of her outstanding work.

Many people who live near enough to “wind farms” do indeed report serious discomfort from noise levels which often turn out to be much higher than they are led to believe will be present. This along with disturbing visual “flicker” which many find to be very upsetting on a daily basis. However, Dr. Pierpont is being increasingly recognized around the world for her study which actually resulted in the naming of a medical syndrome, “wind turbine syndrome”. The most fundamental cause of this affliction seems to be the influence of inaudible extremely low frequency, continuous vibration caused by the rotation of the enormous blades and turbines installed atop the lofty towers which support them. This effect is especially accentuated where there are several, or many, turbines at one installation, as they all turn at the same speed in response to the prevailing wind speed.

Extremely low frequency vibration travels in pulses through any medium, for example the air, and especially well through a fluid medium (such as the ocean waters) and a solid medium, notably: down through the supporting towers and directly through the ground in all directions, causing subtle, pervasive vibration in homes in the surrounding environs.

The best information on the effects of wind turbine vibration, whether audible or not, comes from the people affected by this problem, those living in proximity to wind facilities. Dr. Pierpont has, firstly, studied these people and their complaints, and, secondly, launched into a scientifically validated study of the influences in their environments which could have contributed to their peculiar assortment of newly developed health problems.

Her book, Wind Turbine Syndrome, contains a 26 page introduction. presenting her case, as a medical doctor, for what led her to to do this research project resulting in the writing of the book, all presented in very readable, engaging language. There follows a 100 page report for clinicians, which presents a wealth of scientific explanation, context, and discussion of method employed in the study. Next comes an 87 page section comprised of actual data derived from information supplied by entire families affected by living near a recently constructed wind facility.

Finally, there is a 67 page restatement of her study in layman’s terms, which makes it all very plain and easy for anyone to comprehend what exactly she is saying. There can be no excuse for not reading this presentation, no way of misunderstanding the subject and it’s import in a world which is grasping for new energy sources. As demonstrated by the horrific oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, we need to tread cautiously in exploring our options, and do our homework before we launch huge, expensive, and potentially very harmful enterprises.

I give Dr. Pierpont’s work an unqualified 5 star rating.

—Thomas Whitesell (Potsdam, NY, USA) 6/13/10

Many thanks to Dr. Nina Pierpont for her excellent research on low frequency noise related to industrial wind turbines. As an occupational therapist who has treated clients with vestibular disorders, I am certain that Dr. Pierpont”s research has provided liberation and hope for the many who have been told, “It is all in your head.”

Because the Wind Industry will not pay heed to the problems associated with living near industrial wind turbines, we the citizens must stand up to “Big Wind” and demand better protection. Dr. Pierpont has helped our cause considerably with her book.

I started reading this book immediately after receiving it in the mail and literally couldn’t put it down until I was finished. I highly recommend this book to county commissioners, physicians, and unfortunate land owners or and even land-leasers(as like with smoke, low frequency noise does not stop at property lines)with turbines near their homes.

—Jacinta Faber (Yocemento, Kansas, USA) 6/18/10

In a country like Germany, where energy produced by wind turbines is called “ecological” and where industrial wind turbines are sacred, reports like Wind Turbine Syndrome by Dr. Nina Pierpont about the impacts of infrasound and low-frequency sound on man are unwanted, because officially these kind of sounds are not allowed to be associated with windturbines.

People like me and my husband living in proximity to the 25,000 wind turbines in this country (some of them for 20 years or more) suffering from WTS (Wind Turbine Syndrome), or who are likely to become ill if the installation of an additional 25,000 new generation wind turbines planned and approved goes ahead, are very thankful for this report. The book written to give name to the many differant symptoms caused by wind turbines such as tinnitus, sleep disorders, vertigos, hyper-tension, a faster heartbeat we, the windfarm neighbours, are suffering from is a gift for us, not only in Germany. It helps us to understand our health disorders caused by wind turbines and to handle it, even if this means the necessity to leave our homes… At last we hope this book will help people to achieve the aim to claim studies about infra- and low-frequency sounds in all countries, wherever man and nature are affected by wind turbines.

A very important recommendation for all wind turbine victims, civil servants who allow the applications for more, higher and closer wind turbines to peoples home and for everyone who is interested in what so called technological advance hand in hand with ideologies to save the world can do mischief. With many thanks to the author Dr. Pierpont from Nothern Germany, where we are living with many of the described symptoms since 15 years while counting 110 noticeable wind turbines with differant hights 320 m – 15 km around our property!

—Jutta Reichardt (Schleswig-Holstein, Germany) 6/17/10

In Nina Pierpont’s book “Wind Turbine Syndrome,” she takes a closer look at the affects that the wind industry is having on the populations they target for their wind farms. Her published study examined 10 affected families with a total of 38 people involved. The study documents a pattern of symptoms called “wind turbine syndrome.” People in her study living within 4900ft from the turbines were demonstrating strange symptoms such as headache, loss of sleep, concentration problems, nausea, vertigo and the list goes on.

Wind turbine syndrome, as she described, affects the vestibular system of our body. The turbines cause a disturbed sensory input to eyes, inner ears, and other areas. Neurologically, these sensors then affect one’s sense of position and motion in space and affect spatial memory and anxiety. Pierpont explains that as the turbines are spinning, they create a low frequency noise that other studies have shown to cause neurological stresses such as vibroacoustic disease. Vibroacoustic disease is something that occurs when someone has prolonged exposure to low frequency noise. Your vestibular system located in your ear, is disturbed by the vibrating sound waves and causes balance and memory problems.

The vibrations caused by the turbines have been reported by many people living in close proximity to them. Along with the vibrations, the other symptoms have forced many people out of their homes. Low frequency noise for example, was recognized by the National Academy of Medicine in France where they set a guideline that the turbines should be more than 0.93 miles from people due to the harmful effects of the low frequency noise. The sound created by the wind turbines does not seem like a large issue when you are in the presence of one for a few minutes or an hour, but the long term affects to people’s ears and mental functions have presented a serious case against the potential of wind farms in the future.

The great size of the turbines is what causes the vibrations reported by people. The low frequency noise, as stated by Pierpont, travels though the air and when it comes in contact with a solid object, it can cause the object it bounces off of to vibrate, for example, people. There is an energy transfer that goes on between the sound waves and the vibration they make when they bounce off of the object. Pierpont also states that the waves are also bouncing off of household objects creating a mixture of sound waves within a room which are transmitted to the middle ear and other parts of the body. The bouncing of these waves inside of people’s skulls are what causes the headaches represented in the symptoms of wind turbine syndrome. The middle ear is very sensitive and this noise that is vibrating towards it factors into the Visceral Vibratory Vestibular Disturbance (VVVD). These vibrations have been described as “internal quivering” by people who feel the vibrations in their gut and sometimes in their chest.

These symptoms are also different depending on the strength of the wind, direction of the wind, and the direction of the turbines themselves. Sleep disturbance is one symptom that greatly impacts someone’s life, but is a symptom that resolves itself quickly when one travels away from the turbines. Pierpont had evidence that those people who moved away from the turbines, were able to sleep more soundly and get a full nights rest. Headaches associated with wind turbine syndrome, and were especially prevalent in those who had pre-existing migraines. This is another symptom that seemed to heal itself once an affected person traveled a distance from the turbines but increased intensity of a headache once being exposed to the turbines to a prolonged period. And although people with pre-existing migraine conditions were most likely to have headaches, when they were removed as a risk factor, about 50% of people were still experiencing headaches. While the vibrations are known to affect the ear, they also cause tinnitus in some of the observed. Tinnitus, which is ringing of the ears, caused a slight hearing loss while inflamed, along with ear pressure, ear pain without infection, and many other painful sensations directly affecting the entire ear. This condition was also one that was eased after a few hours away from the turbines, but would potentially return in the presence of the turbines.

Concentration and memory are also affected and many people had trouble focusing and remembering things that they were supposed to do. Lack of sleep, ringing ears, headaches, and other symptoms can cause one to not think about anything and lose focus just as I would myself if I had a headache and no Tylenol to make it “go away.” Overall, Wind Turbine Syndrome should be recognized as a real problem among populations living near turbines. Sleep deprivation, headaches, fatigue, irritability, painful ringing of the ears and internal side effects that can disappear when the turbines are not around should send up a red flag that hey, maybe there is a serious problem with the turbines. Dr. Pierpont, to me, made a bold and important move in publishing the book. By putting this book out there, she is getting the knowledge of the problems caused by wind turbines that those suffering from these problems cannot state themselves because of contracts signed with the wind energy developers.

I really could go on for days about how her work has made me feel. Children are having nightmares, people are in pain, people cannot concentrate and children fall behind in school. The case histories over and over show similar symptoms that honestly break my heart. This book had angered me, but in a good way. It is a shame the types of things that people are able to get away with in this country when there is only a handful of people actually benefitting from them. When an innocent five year old says they “can’t concentrate,” that is an unusual statement. Most five year olds are bouncing off the walls and won’t sit down to do their homework in the first place but the words “I can’t concentrate” coming out of a five year olds mouth really hit me in how big of a problem the wind turbines really are.

In a radio interview with Dr. Pierpont she said that the internal vibrations caused by the turbines actually shakes the lungs and causes cilia to fall off! Unbelievable. Horrible lung conditions will be seen in those people when they have unhealthy lungs that cannot get foreign debris out of them. Cigarette smoking disables cilia from the tar buildup in lungs, so now in my eyes these turbines so what cigarettes do to people, and they aren’t making the life decision to smoke cigarettes!

The turbines are a great idea no doubt: use something that is right in front of us the wind. However, the execution of the wind industry development has failed immensely in my eyes. I feel so bad for the people who have had their dreams and lives crushed by the wind industry and forced to move from their homes. The word of the negative effects of these turbines really needs to get out there to people. I just hope that Pierpont’s Wind Turbine Syndrome can reach as many people as it can before the turbines take over.

—C. Draveling (Allendale, Michigan, USA) 6/21/10

This book not only contains a detailed scientific report of research carried out by Nina Pierpont on people living near industrial wind turbines, but also explains in layman’s terms the medical, technical and statistical aspects of the study. I recommend it for all those concerned with wind turbines – local authorities , the wind industry itself and those who are living or are likely to be living in proximity to these machines. For too long, the wind industry has been denying that there is any impact on human health, despite the fact that a large number of people around the world have reported health problems linked to living near wind turbines. This book has been long awaited by many wind turbine victims here in France.In addition to explaining the effects of low frequency noise on human health,it also explains why the current methods of sound measurement used by the wind industry are woefully inadequate, in that little account is taken of the low frequency noise produced by wind turbines, and it is low frequency sound that is not filtered out by walls or windows. It is essential that the information contained in this book is taken into account when decisions are taken for the siting of industrial wind turbines to ensure that there are in the future no adverse effects on the health of those living in proximity – no more ‘wind turbine victims’

—Mme Elisabeth Chafer (France) 6/16/10

Last night I pulled up to a stoplight, and the car to my right — with the driver’s window open — was emitting a “boom, boom, boom” sound. My wife rolled down her window; when she did, I could then hear that there was also a singer, and instruments playing. The point? The lower the sound frequency, the more it penetrates; in this case only the low-frequency percussion made it through the glass and metal. And if this is true for audible sound, it is even more so for frequencies below the audible level, sometimes referred to as Low Frequency Noise (LFN).

Dr. Pierpont’s “Wind Turbine Syndrome” deals in an exceptionally reader-friendly fashion with the impact of LFN on the inner ear and the human balance system. Based on accompanying measurements by sound engineers of LFN emitted from wind turbines, she has been able to clearly demonstrate their harmful effect on human lives. This book contains extensive references, a very helpful glossary of terms, and referee reports from medical professionals in Neurology, Otolaryngology and Epidemiology. There are many pages of tables providing observational and statistical aspects of the study.

The clinical portions of the book include results from detailed interviews with 38 people living in proximity to wind turbines in upstate New York, where Pierpont is also a pediatrician. Their responses revealed a constellation of symptoms — including headaches (especially migraines), dizziness, vertigo, sleeplessness, Tinnitus, nausea, visual blurring, rapid heart rate, panic attacks, and similar — which have a common origin: LFN affecting the inner ear and other balance-related organs in the body. One very telling observation: when the victims were removed from proximity to the turbines, the symptoms disappeared; when they returned, the symptoms re-occurred. The obvious solution? Move away, or turn off the turbines. But there’s a problem about moving away: who’s going to purchase a property that is demonstrably being polluted by LFN?

Dr. Pierpont’s approach to the book is to communicate the issues to both the medical community and the general population. She skillfully deals with this by including two sections dealing with the same subject matter: one for clinicians, and the other for non-clinicians. She does an exceptional job of anticipating questions that a non-technical person might have, providing very clear descriptions of sometimes complex processes. This is simply an outstanding book, not only in its delineation of the problems, but also in its readability.

Its publication and the defining of wind turbine syndrome provide an explanation and understanding of health symptoms related to wind turbines that have been appearing in the new media over the past decade. It must really be considered a landmark publication which should make a significant difference in how wind energy is viewed in the future, world-wide. It might be said that prior to this book, wind developers and governments funding them were not fully aware of the pollution issues, and undoubtedly dismissed complaints as NIMBY-related, mostly because of aesthetic concerns.

But with “Wind Turbine Syndrome,” *no one* is innocent any more. The medical community has weighed in, and the verdict is “guilty!” The health issues are not psychosomatic, they are neurological, and they are destroying the quality of people’s lives. Not only should the siting of future wind turbines adhere to a 2km setback minimum, but additionally governments need to sponsor massive independent studies of existing installations, and where health problems are found the turbines must be shut off and dismantled. Wind energy should not be immune to the same diligent scrutiny that other energy industries are rightfully subjected to: oil, natural gas, coal, nuclear. This book is a critical factor in causing that scrutiny to take place.

—Richard Mann PhD (Quincy, Mass., USA) 6/15/10

This is the most important book for wind turbine victims in Germany. As the authorities in Germany negate infrasonic disease, I hope “Wind Turbine Syndrome – A Report on a Natural Experiment” by Nina Pierpont will bring this fact on the agenda. Reading this book was to read my life story of the last 15 years. For these 15 years sleep disturbance, tinnitus, tachycardia and dizziness were my daily and nightly constant companions. This book is a must for all, who are suffering from Wind Turbine Syndrome and even more for those, who have been spared so far.

—Marco Bernardi (Schleswig-Holstein, Germany) 6/15/10